Last updated on August 17th, 2020
There are plenty of reasons to delete your TikTok account, whether you’ve just grown out of it, concern about your privacy, or just need to take a break from the hugely popular social network. The app is also reported for violating privacy by stealing and secretly transmitting user data in an unauthorized manner. Here is how to delete your TikTok account.
How to Delete TikTok
Deleting your account is permanent and can’t be reversed. It’s easy. Before going forward with deleting the TikTok account you must note that after requesting for deletion TikTok will first deactivate the profile 30 days quite similar to how Facebook works and then delete it after 30 days. If you log in anytime between 30 days the account will be re-activated again. To delete your TikTok account, start by opening the app on your iPhone or Android device and logging in. You can then follow the steps mentioned below.
- Open TitTok app on your mobile.
- Go to your Profile tab.
- Tap the Settings icon(three dots) in the top right corner.
- Select “Manage my account”.
- Tap “Delete account” at the bottom of the screen.
- Once you have selected the “Delete my account” option, the app will then ask you to verify your details and then you will be redirected to the delete account page.
- Now, click on Delete Account option and then “Delete”. Your account will be deactivated for 30 days and then it’ll be deleted after 30 days.
Once your account is deleted:
- You can’t use the account to log in to TikTok.
- You’ll lose access to the videos you’ve posted.
- You’ll lose access to purchased items and won’t be able to receive a refund.
- Shared information, such as chat messages, may still be visible to others.